Scarpetta Collection Volume II
Patricia Cornwell
book reviews:
· general fiction
· chick lit/romance
· sci-fi/fantasy
· graphic novels
· nonfiction
· audio books

Click here for the RSS Feed

· author interviews
· children's books @
· DVD reviews @

win books
buy online


for authors
& publishers

for reviewers

click here to learn more

Buy *Scarpetta Collection Volume II: All That Remains and Cruel & Unusual (Kay Scarpetta)* by Patricia Cornwell online

Scarpetta Collection Volume II: All That Remains and Cruel & Unusual (Kay Scarpetta)
Patricia Cornwell
672 pages
September 2009
rated 5 of 5 possible stars

buy this book now or browse millions of other great products at
previous reviewnext review

“There were four couples so far. Each had disappeared, eventually to be found murdered within a fifty-mile radius of Williamsburg.” (p. 6)
In Scarpetta Collection Volume II, readers will find the third and fourth books in the Kay Scarpetta series, All That Remains and Cruel and Unusual. The intrepid chief medical examiner for the Commonwealth of Virginia continues to solve incredibly complex murders while living a complicated personal life. Readers will be intrigued by the details of the horrific murders which come across Kay Scarpetta’s autopsy table, and they will come to know and love the people who populate her world.

In All that Remains, Kay faces off against a determined serial killer who has killed four couples. There is virtually no trace evidence since all the couples are found months after their murders; all that remains is bones. The case becomes a media nightmare when the daughter of the president’s drug czar disappears with her boyfriend and their bodies are subsequently found in the woods. Has the serial killer struck again? This time some unusual trace evidence leads Scarpetta to yet another unusual murder. Is the killer a CIA agent? Is the murder a mob hit to discredit the drug czar? Are Benton Wesley and Pete Marino covering up for a government agent while Scarpetta is left to take the heat?

In Cruel and Unusual, murderer Ronnie Joe Waddell is executed in Virginia. His autopsy is routine, and soon Kay Scarpetta is preoccupied with the murders of thirteen-year old Eddie Heath and Jennifer Deighton. Both murders appear to be linked to Waddell - Ronnie Joe’s fingerprints even turn up at one of the murder scenes. Was the man executed really Waddell, or is he still alive murdering people? Meanwhile, chaos in the office also has Scarpetta worried. Her computer system is compromised; her pregnant assistant, Susan, suddenly decides to quit her job; and Kay is still grieving the recent death of her lover, Mark. Is someone sabotaging Kay in her own office?

The Kay Scarpetta novels began in 1990 and continue with Port Mortuary (2010), the eighteenth book in the series. Patricia Cornwell got firsthand experience for her novels while she worked as a volunteer police officer and a crime reporter for the Charlotte Observer. She also spent six years working for the Virginia Chief Medical Examiner’s Office. Since the debut of the Scarpetta series, Cornwell has won numerous mystery awards and continues to be a bestselling author. Scarpetta Collection Volume II: All That Remains and Cruel & Unusual (Kay Scarpetta) is a thrilling read that will appeal to all mystery lovers.

Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book at © Myra Junyk, 2011

Also by Patricia Cornwell:

buy *Scarpetta Collection Volume II: All That Remains and Cruel & Unusual (Kay Scarpetta)* online
click here for more info
Click here to learn more about this month's sponsor!

fiction · sf/f · comic books · nonfiction · audio
newsletter · free book contest · buy books online
review index · links · · authors & publishers

site by ELBO Computing Resources, Inc.