free book drawings
book reviews:
· general fiction
· chick lit/romance
· sci-fi/fantasy
· graphic novels
· nonfiction
· audio books

Click here for the curledup.com RSS Feed

· author interviews
· children's books @
   curledupkids.com
· DVD reviews @
   curledupdvd.com

newsletter
win books
buy online
links

home

for authors
& publishers


for reviewers

click here to learn more
  Curled Up With a Good Book  
Sign up here to enter Curled Up With a Good Book's drawing for a copy of Leni Zumas's Red Clocks. To a winner randomly selected from the contest entries (US and Canada addresses only, please), we will send a copy of the featured contest title. Subscribe to the Curled Up With a Good Book newsletter for monthly book recommendations by email and for more chances to win. For more information on how to win, check out the giveaway rules!

Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.

Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro’s best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or “mender,” who brings all their fates together when she’s arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid's Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.




* * *
Leni Zumas grew up in Washington, DC, and now lives in Portland, Oregon, where she teaches creative writing at Portland State University. Her obsessions include maps, ships, drums, and all forms of the atypical.


Giveaway rules
* Alternate entry: email with your name in the message body and the book's title in the subject line
* Entrants must by 18 years or older
* Free books must be shipped to addresses in the U.S.
* Binding type & cover art may differ from that shown here
* Winners will be notified by e-mail
* One entry per person and per e-mail address per contest
* Names and addresses will not be sold or distributed to anyone
fictionsf/f · comic books · nonfiction · audio
newsletter · free book contest · buy books online
review index · links · · authors & publishers
reviewers

site by ELBO Computing Resources, Inc.