Five Days in Summer
Kate Pepper
book reviews:
· general fiction
· chick lit/romance
· sci-fi/fantasy
· graphic novels
· nonfiction
· audio books

Click here for the curledup.com RSS Feed

· author interviews
· children's books @
   curledupkids.com
· DVD reviews @
   curledupdvd.com

newsletter
win books
buy online
links

home

for authors
& publishers


for reviewers

click here to learn more




Buy *Five Days in Summer* online

Five Days in Summer

Kate Pepper
Onyx
Paperback
304 pages
July 2004
rated 4 1/2 of 5 possible stars

previous reviewnext review

Emily Parker needs to run to the store to pick up a few items. She and her three young children have been spending their vacation with Emilyís mother on Cape Cod, and Emily wants to replenish her momís pantry before they leave. She talks to her husband, Will, on her cell phone from the grocery store parking lot as sheís loading up the car, promising they will be home in time for dinner. Hours pass, and Will gets a call from his mother-in-law -- Emily never returned from the store.

Will quickly travels to Cape Cod to see what the police have discovered about his missing wife. He encounters a seemingly incompetent Detective Snow, who is convinced Emily has run off just as his own wife did. But retired FBI agent John Geary, now living in the area doing research for a book on cold cases, has a funny feeling that something isnít quite right. When John and Will find Emilyís car, full of spoiled groceries and abandoned in the store parking lot, they know she has met with foul play. Johnís research then leads to a discovery that the person responsible for the disappearance has struck before -- and may also be after Will and Emilyís son.

Five Days in Summer is a thrilling ride from start to finish. This novel is so full of twists and turns that I defy readers to figure out the solution before the book tumbles to its dizzying conclusion. Emily is a sympathetic character from the first page, and readers will root for her survival even when things seem completely hopeless. Each character, no matter how minor, plays an important role in the overall plot of the story.

Debut author Kate Pepper is off to a wonderful beginning with Five Days in Summer. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark and Lisa Gardner will definitely want to pick this one up, as the suspense and thrills permeate each page. The pacing varies from scene to scene, which gives you the illusion of being able to relax and catch your breath. But donít let down your guard! For a taut, edge-of-the seat mystery, look no further than Five Days in Summer.



Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book at www.curledup.com. © Melissa Parcel, 2004

Also by Kate Pepper:

buy *Five Days in Summer* online
click here for more info
Click here to learn more about this month's sponsor!


fiction · sf/f · comic books · nonfiction · audio
newsletter · free book contest · buy books online
review index · links · · authors & publishers
reviewers

site by ELBO Computing Resources, Inc.