Eternity's Hope
Mitzi Kleidon
book reviews:
· general fiction
· chick lit/romance
· sci-fi/fantasy
· graphic novels
· nonfiction
· audio books

Click here for the RSS Feed

· author interviews
· children's books @
· DVD reviews @

win books
buy online


for authors
& publishers

for reviewers

click here to learn more

Buy *Eternity's Hope* by Mitzi Kleidon

Eternity's Hope
Mitzi Kleidon
227 pages
March 2001
rated 2 1/2 of 5 possible stars
previous reviewnext review

Eternity’s Hope by Mitzi Kleidon is the second book in the ongoing "Rexcalibur" series.

Kleidon thoughtfully includes an overview of the first novel before delving into the story. Eternity’s Hope focuses on the classical fantasy plot of good against evil. Part One, “A Knight Falls,” includes about 25 chapters and is followed by Part Two, “Merlin’s Prophecy,” which consists of 10 chapters. A short Epilogue is meant to tease reader’s interest in the next book of the series. One unusual aspect of the book is the lack of author information.

Tierok is the ominous leader of the “Dark Army.” His hatred and vengeful heart nulls any pity he may feel for the Dark Army’s victims. Tierok is driven even harder by inner struggles and insolence from his second-in-command, Skardas.

On the other side of the scale is Nirron, who recently inherited the kingdom of Stalaran after the heartless murder of his father. There is a puppet of the dark side in their midst - a puppet willing to perform treacherous deeds.

Nirron’s older brother, James, is away from the realm doing his duty as a knight. He must travel through a dangerous land known as Drakais before he can return home. His fellow knights are shadowed along the journey by mysterious helpers.

The narrative is a jumble of ideas along with excessive use of suspense to the point that the character’s exasperation became tedious. No mortal has a clue what is going on, but those who know are not revealing a thing. This theme carries right through to the last page, where the story ends with time-travel. Most of the main characters conveniently have some form of psychic ability from visions, communication with animals, intuition, and dreams.

I was amused by the name "Rexcalibur," one of the twelve male knights who is singled out as special. Camelot, Merlin, and mysterious entities are also involved in the tale, along with magical swords and other wizardry that is expected in this genre.

Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book at © Lillian Brummet (, 2006

buy *Eternity's Hope* online
click here for more info
Click here to learn more about this month's sponsor!

fiction · sf/f · comic books · nonfiction · audio
newsletter · free book contest · buy books online
review index · links · · authors & publishers

site by ELBO Computing Resources, Inc.