Sister's Choice
Emilie Richards
book reviews:
· general fiction
· chick lit/romance
· sci-fi/fantasy
· graphic novels
· nonfiction
· audio books

Click here for the RSS Feed

· author interviews
· children's books @
· DVD reviews @

win books
buy online


for authors
& publishers

for reviewers

click here to learn more

Buy *Sister's Choice (Shenandoah Album)* by Emilie Richards online

Sister's Choice (Shenandoah Album)
Emilie Richards
544 pages
July 2008
rated 5 of 5 possible stars

buy this book now or browse millions of other great products at
previous reviewnext review

Just as Emilie Richards weaves her exquisite quilts, she has woven a story for everyone who loves family, especially those who have shared a special bond with a sister.

In the gorgeous Shenandoah Valley with its beautiful scenery and panoramic views, Kendra and Isaac Taylor are planning their dream house on land they own in this stunning mountain bordered property. In what seems to be a perfect life, Richards tells how this couple have been sadly left childless, though they yearn for a family.

Jamie Dunkirk, Kendra’s younger sister, is in a much different situation. Due to the difference in their ages, as well as a period after Jamie left and the two sisters were estranged for years, Kendra and Jamie have never really been close. Jamie has gone back to school, and her goal is to make amends for years past and reunite with her sister. A single mother raising two daughters, Hannah and Alison, she is working toward her graduate degree in architecture. Jamie even designs the plans for Kendra and Isaac’s dream home as a gift.

Just prior to Christmas, Jamie comes to visit unexpectedly and gives Kendra and Isaac another gift: she offers to be a gestational surrogate so that Kendra’s perfect family dream can come true. She says that while she and her daughters are living in the cabin on land near the building site, she can oversee things for them. Although apprehensive because of Jamie’s past, Kendra accepts the offer.

All would appear to be falling into place when handsome builder Cash Rosslyn enters the story. A relationship builds between Cash and Jamie, and Kendra closely monitors their activities, fearing Jamie may suddenly revert to her old ways. However, Grace, Cash’s grandmother, is very supportive of the relationship, and her own special love story and talented quilting skills - a signature in the author Emilie Richards’ Shenandoah series - unites the three generations of women. Their bond is tested as Jamie faces a medical emergency that could tear their lives apart. Jamie is faced with the most difficult decision of her life. The choice she must make brings this story to its dramatic conclusion.

Each of Emilie Richards’ books in the Shenandoah Album Series has a title drawn from the name of a certain pattern of a quilt square. In Alice Walker’s The Color Purple, Sophia and Celie take fragments of torn clothes and curtains and piece them together, creating the “Sister’s Choice” quilt square pattern. The strength of their relationship is comparable to that of the main characters in Sister's Choice. In the same style, stories related to other quilt patterns make up this series of excellent books. Lover’s Knot and Endless Chain are just two of Richards’ charismatic stories. Fans of Jennifer Chiaverini’s “Elm Creek Quilt” series and Debbie McComber will quickly have a new favorite author after reading Sister's Choice or any of Emilie Richards’ other work.

Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book at © Karen D. Haney, 2008

buy *Sister's Choice (Shenandoah Album)* online
click here for more info
Click here to learn more about this month's sponsor!

fiction · sf/f · comic books · nonfiction · audio
newsletter · free book contest · buy books online
review index · links · · authors & publishers

site by ELBO Computing Resources, Inc.