A Young Girl's Crimes
David Rehak
book reviews:
· general fiction
· chick lit/romance
· sci-fi/fantasy
· graphic novels
· nonfiction
· audio books

Click here for the curledup.com RSS Feed

· author interviews
· children's books @
   curledupkids.com
· DVD reviews @
   curledupdvd.com

newsletter
win books
buy online
links

home

for authors
& publishers


for reviewers

click here to learn more




Buy *A Young Girl's Crimes* online

A Young Girl's Crimes

David Rehak
PublishAmerica
Paperback
111 pages
May 2002
rated 5 of 5 possible stars

previous review next review

With a few exceptions, there is little new talent on the literary scene these days. This makes the atmosphere ripe for a gifted new-comer to take us by storm.

Readers who enjoyed The Nanny Diaries and All-American Girl are bound to take to a young new author named David Rehak, whose exceptional first novel A Young Girlís Crimes, set in circa-1970 Canada, is allegedly based on fact. It's the story of a young motherless girl who lives with her wealthy father in a cold, repressive and oppressive environment. She rebels and lashes out in violent and sexual ways. Then she meets someone who actually shows her love for the first time. But by this stage, she is morally tainted and itís only a matter of time before her deep dark secret is out.

The first thing that is likely to strike the reader is Mr. Rehakís style. He manages to say everything in the fewest number of words, and keeps the story going at a lightning pace. Unnecessary descriptions and atmosphere are kept at a minimum, used only where needed. This is certainly a different style of writing to that which Iím accustomed to. One might even call it minimalist. Realistic minimalism? The clarity and simplicity of the style is balanced with substance, i.e. philosophical and spiritual undertones. These are presented in a manner that is easy to understand and interesting, not in a dry or academic way. Also, while the simplicity of it makes this book accessible and un-intimidating to the average reader, the story itself is a real treat. The characters and plot keep the reader hooked; it just keeps getting better and better. Due to the fact that the book is written in such an incredibly readable style and the story is so gripping, for long spaces of time one hardly knows that one is reading. You're just absorbed in it

Hope very much that this uniquely talented new author is not a fading one-hit wonder. I want to know when his next book is coming out.



© 2002 by Julia Prichard for Curled Up With a Good Book


buy *A Young Girl's Crimes* online
click here for more info
Click here to learn more about this month's sponsor!


fiction · sf/f · comic books · nonfiction · audio
newsletter · free book contest · buy books online
review index · links · · authors & publishers
reviewers

site by ELBO Computing Resources, Inc.